Waluke among list of politicians selected to join PSC as members

A list of members, all politicians have been selected to join the Public Service Commission (PSC).

Out of the seven, four are from the ruling coalition party, Kenya Kwanza, whereas the remaining are from the opposition.

Report by the Nation revealed that four members from ruling coalition are from the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party – locking out other affiliated parties from the privileged prospect at the PSC.

The opposition side championed by the Azimio La Umoja One Kenya coalition has, however,  distributed the slots among its three major affiliated parties – Orange Democratic Movement (ODM), Jubilee Party (JP) and Wiper Party.

List of the selected members

According to Article 127 of the Constitution, members joining PSC should have at least two women. The seven members are supposed to be appointed by Parliament, out of whom, four shall be from the ruling party or coalition.

With the names forwarded to National Speaker Moses Wetangula for appointed, Nyali Member of Parliament Mohamed Ali and and nominated Senator Joyce Korir both of UDA will have the opportunity to serve at PSC.

Other names forwarded include UDA MP Faith GItau (Nyandarua) and Senator John Kinyua (Laikipia). Azimio members are; Jubilee’s John Waluke  (Sirisya) Wiper’s Patrick Makau (Mavoko MP) and Nyamira Senator Okongo Omogeni.

Nation also reported that UDA has been pushing to have former Uasin Gishu County Assembly Speaker Isaac Terer picked as a non-MP member of the PSC.

The PSC is constituted by 11 members out of whom, the NA Speaker serves as the chairperson and Senate Clerk as its Secretary.

Monitor Your Business Transaction

Lawrence Baraza

Lawrence Baraza is a dynamic journalist currently overseeing content at Metropol TV Digital. With a keen focus on business news and analytics, Lawrence guides the platform in delivering insightful, data-driven content that empowers its audience to make informed decisions. Lawrence’s commitment to quality and his ability to anticipate market trends make him a key figure in the digital media landscape. His work continues to shape the way business news is consumed, making a significant impact in the field.

Related Articles

Back to top button