President Kenyatta nominates 4 IEBC commissioners [video]

President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated four Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners out of 36 candidates who were interviewed.

The four include; Francis Wanderi, Justus Abonyo, Juliana Cherera and Irene Cherop to be IEBC commissioners.

The Justice and Legal Affairs Committee of the National Assembly will vet the four commissioners and table a report on the floor of the House.

They will be replacing Roselyn Akombe, Margaret Mwachanya, Paul Kurgat, and former Vice-Chair Consolata Maina who resigned from the commission.

The four were picked after the selection panel interviewed 36 shortlisted out of over 700 Kenyans who submitted their applications.

Kenya is in a race against time to reconstitute the independent electoral and boundaries commission a year to next year’s polls.

The oral interviews for the 36 candidates were shortlisted for the position of commissioner at the electoral agency which kicked off on July 7 this year.

Monitor Your Business Transaction

Lawrence Baraza

Lawrence Baraza is a dynamic journalist currently overseeing content at Metropol TV Digital. With a keen focus on business news and analytics, Lawrence guides the platform in delivering insightful, data-driven content that empowers its audience to make informed decisions. Lawrence’s commitment to quality and his ability to anticipate market trends make him a key figure in the digital media landscape. His work continues to shape the way business news is consumed, making a significant impact in the field.

Related Articles

Back to top button