Uhuru signs three Bills in Law

Uhuru signs three Bills in Law

President Uhuru Kenyatta has signed three Bills –  the Refugees Bill, Foreign Service Bill and the Law of Succession (Amendment) Bill into law.

The new Refugees Act, which had earlier been referred back to Parliament for reconsideration by the President, strengthens the management of refugees by consolidating provisions of several international legal instruments.

On the other hand, the new Foreign Service Act establishes the Foreign Service Academy among other key provisions aimed at enhancing Kenya’s foreign relations.

The Law of Succession (Amendment) Bill, sponsored by Homa Bay Town MP Peter Kaluma, amended the Law of Succession Act so as to streamline administration of succession matters in the country.

Present during the signing ceremony were Head of Public Service Dr Joseph Kinyua, National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi,

and Clerk of the National Assembly Michael Sialai. Others were Solicitor General Ken Ogeto and State House Deputy Chief of Staff Njee Muturi.

MPs move in to tame
Nairobi-based busine

Lawrence Baraza is a prolific writer with competencies in Digital Media, Print, and Broadcast. Baraza is also a Communication Practitioner currently spearheading Digital content on Metropol TV's Digital Desk.

Rate This Article: