Sudan army chief names new governing Sovereign Council

Sudan army chief names new governing Sovereign Council

Sudan’s army chief General Abdel Fattah al-Burhan, who led a coup last month that removed the country’s transitional government, has issued a decree for the formation of a new governing Sovereign Council.

State television reported on Thursday that al-Burhan would remain the head of the council, while Mohamed Hamdan Dagalo, the leader of the feared paramilitary Rapid Support Forces who is also known as Hemeti, would keep his post as deputy.

SMS Alert 20146
SMS Alert 20146

The new council includes army commanders, former rebel leaders and new civilian members. A representative for the eastern Sudan region will join the council later after more political consultations, the state TV said.

Lieutenant-General Abdel Fattah Al-Burhan, issued Constitutional Decree No. 21 forming the Transitional Sovereignty Council as follows:

Lieutenant-General Abdul-Fattah Al-Burhan Abdul-Rahman Al-Burhan, Chairman

Lieutenant-General Mohamed Hamdan Dagalo Moussa as Vice President

Lieutenant-General Shams El-Din Kabbashi Ibrahim, a member

Lieutenant-General Yasser Abdul-Rahman Hassan Al-Atta, member

Lieutenant-General Engineer Naval Consultant Ibrahim Jaber Ibrahim Member

Mr. Malik Aqar Air is a member

Mr. Al-Taher Abu Bakr Hajar is a member

Mr. Hadi Idris Yahya Member

Mrs. Raja Nicolas Abdel Masih is a member

Mr. Youssef Gad Karim Mohamed Ali Youssef is a member

Mr. Abu al-Qasim Muhammad Muhammad Ahmad a member

Mr. Abdul-Baqi Abdul-Qader Al-Zubair Abdul-Qader is a member

Mrs. Salma Abdul-Jabbar Al-Mubarak Musa, member

It is noteworthy that the appointment of the representative of eastern Sudan has been postponed until the completion of consultations on it.

Former South African
Court deals Miguna m
Rate This Article: