Ex-Wajir Deputy Governor Abdihafid Yarrow among 21 shotlisted for EACC Commissioner job

Ex-Wajir Deputy Governor Abdihafid Yarrow among 21 shotlisted for EACC Commissioner job

Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) following the resignation of two commissioners.

Others seeking to replace former Commissioners are veteran journalist Richard Chacha, currently the Director of Communications in Mombasa County and Elizabeth Njambi Munene.

Prof Richard Oduor, a Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology currently serving at Kenyatta University as Director, Research Support and Dissemination, Halima Abdi Omar, Abdiaziz Sheikh Maad, Lucy Wanja Kinuthia are contensting for the two Commissioner positions.

John Kipkelei Kirui, Nancy Karimi, Enock Osoro, Rukia Atikiya, Lawrence Nyale, Monica Wanjiru, Alfred Mtuweta, Mary Mwongeli Mutuku, Joan Andisi Machayo and Stellah Ibongia also made the shortlist.

The shortlisting has seen 11 female and 10 male candidates running for the two offices.

Ex-commissioner Dabar Abdi Maalim and Rose Mghoi Machariawere are among five commissioners that were appointed by President Kenyatta for a term of six years in 2015 at EACC.

According to the Commission the interviews for the 21 individuals will be conducted on diverse dates between September 28 and 30, 2021 scheduled to run in three phases.

Also Read:

  1. PSC invites shortlisted candidates for EACC Commissioner’s post
  2. PSC re-advertises two EACC Commissioners posts
  3. Two Commissioners resign from EACC

The interview will be held in three phases of seven people each, with the first phase being interviewed

The applicants will be interviewed at the Public Service Commission (PSC), Harambee Avenue Nairobi on the mentioned dates.

Upon completion of the interviews, the National Assembly will, within twenty-one days of the day it next sits after receipt of the name of an applicant vet and consider the applicant, and may approve or reject applicants for any or all vacancies in the Commission.

If approved, the Speaker of the National Assembly shall forward the name of the approved applicant to the President for appointment.

The exercise is in line with the EACC Act which states that the EACC should constitute five members from which a  chairperson is selected.

The President shall appoint the nominee, within seven days of receipt of the name of the approved applicant from the National Assembly.

The chairperson and members of the Commission serve a single term of six years on a part-time basis.

The public has until September 27, 2021 to avail any credible information of interest relating to any of the shortlisted candidates to the Commission.

Diaspora remittances
Atwoli challenges Af

Digging behind the headline to explore the world of business and human interest stories in a more independent, honest, and dignified perspective.

Rate This Article: