Tuesday, Aug 4, 2020
HomeBusinessEconomyList of countries allowed to enter Kenyan borders as govt opens International air space – CS Macharia

List of countries allowed to enter Kenyan borders as govt opens International air space – CS Macharia

Countries allowed to enter Kenyan boarders as govt opens air space – CS Macharia

Following the guidelines put in place to contain the spread of COVID-19, Transport Cabinet Secretary James Macharia said his Ministry has so far complied with the guidelines to open up the international air space.

Subject to airlines following the protocols required, the CS said specific countries will be allowed to have their citizens enter Kenyan borders.

These countries, particularly foreign include; China, South Korea, Japan, Canada, Switzerland.

In the East African Communities (EAC), Tanzania was sidelined even after the country’s leader John Pombe Magufuli declared her ‘coronavirus free.’

Only Uganda and Rwanda within the EAC will be allowed to have its citizens enter Kenyan borders.

Other African Countries which have been given a nod to allow their citizens to tour Kenya are; Morocco, Namibia, Zimbabwe, and Ethiopia.

The CS said opening the international air space will have a positive impact on the tourism sector, after months of reeling from the coronavirus pandemic.

Kenya was awarded the World Travel and Tourism Council (WTTC), Safe Travel Stamp on July 1, in recognition of the destinations adoption of the global health and hygiene standardised protocols dubbed ‘Safe Travels.’

The award was in line with the Global reopening of Tourism and Travel Protocols.

The directive was parallel to COVID-19 briefing where 788 new cases were confirmed in the country, bringing the total number of infections to 19,913.

Health Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS) Rashid Aman while making the announcement, said 100 COVID-19 patients had also recovered out of whom, eight were from home-based care programme while 92 were from various hospitals.

But even as the government develops new measures to contain the virus, CAS Aman said the country lost 14 more COVID-19 patients, raising the death toll to 325.

What Kenya stands to

Digital Desk, Metropol TV

Rate This Article: