Sunday, Jul 5, 2020
HomeBusinessEconomyJoshua Oigara re-elected as KBA Governing Council Chairperson for 2020/2021 Period

Joshua Oigara re-elected as KBA Governing Council Chairperson for 2020/2021 Period

Joshua Oigara re-elected as Chairperson of Kenya Bankers Association

Kenya Commercial Bank Group (KCB) Chief Executive Joshua Oigara has been re-elected as the Kenya Bankers Association (KBA) Governing Council Chairperson for the period 2020/21.

This follows the Association’s 58th Annual General Meeting which also saw NCBA Group Managing Director Mr. John Gachora  re-elected as the Council’s Vice-Chairperson

Mr. Oigara and Mr. Gachora have steered the banking industry through various policy engagements in close coordination with the industry regulators.

 Under their tenure, KBA formulated the 2019 -2023 Strategic Plan that seeks to deepen financial inclusion by facilitating affordable banking services through tech-driven innovations and enhanced operational efficiency.

The KBA Strategy also provides a blueprint towards meeting regulatory requirements outlined by the Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) Banking Sector Charter, particularly on the adoption of customer-centric business models, with a focus on supporting MSMEs; risk-based credit pricing; transparency, as well as, information disclosure; and entrenchment of ethical culture in banking.

In his acceptance remarks, Mr. Oigara noted that the industry has continued to face challenges in the year 2020, observing that the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic is one of the greatest challenges faced by the industry in recent history.

“So much of our world has changed in a very short time, but what remains constant is that which makes us Kenyans: we smile in the face of adversity, and we do not hesitate to help when called upon,” said Oigara.

He also added that “banks and bankers have been stepping up to support the national effort during this global health crisis,” commending the industry’s efforts to help customers mitigate the financial impact on households and businesses.

Since April 2020, Banks have restructured in excess of Ksh560 billion worth of loan facilities and have waived fees and charges on mobile payments.

The Chairman also lauded banks for quickly stepping in to raise approximately Ksh 1.7 billion for the COVID-19 Fund, which was set up by the national government.

KBA Chief Executive Officer, Dr. Habil Olaka, expressed gratitude to the Governance noting that it has greatly aided the Association to successfully roll out novel programmes to enable the industry to better support the economy.

“With banks being a critical cog in the economy’s wheel, their collective endeavor is to make sure that under the current challenging circumstances there is minimized disruption. Even at this early stage, it is evident that the banking industry has demonstrated leadership in the arena of response and responsibility,” said Olaka.

KBA Governing Council for the 2020/2021 Period

During the AGM, KBA reconstituted its Governing Council. The KBA Governing Council is nominated to represent three categories: large, medium-sized, and small banks, as defined by the KBA articles of association. The incoming Council members are as follows:

1.         KCB Bank, Group CEO, Joshua Oigara (Chairman)

2.         NCBA Bank, Group Managing Director, John Gachora (Vice Chairman)

3.         Equity Bank- Kenya, Managing Director, Gerald Warui

4.         Co-operative Bank of Kenya, Group Managing Director & CEO, Dr. Gideon Muriuki

5.         Standard Chartered Bank (K), Managing Director & CEO, Kariuki Ngari

6.         DTB Bank, Group CEO & Managing Director, Nasim Devji

7.         Absa Bank, Managing Director, Jeremy Awori

8.         I&M Bank, Chief Executive Officer, Kihara Maina

9.         Family Bank, Chief Executive Officer, Rebecca Mbithi

10.       Citibank, Chief Executive Officer N.A. Kenya & East Africa Cluster, Martin Mugambi

11.       Gulf African Bank, Chief Executive Officer, Abdalla Abdulkhalik

12.       DIB Bank, Chief Executive Officer, Peter Makau

13.       SBM Bank, Chief Executive Officer, Moezz Mir

14.       Middle East Bank, Managing Director, Isaac Mwige

15.       Development Bank of Kenya, Chief Executive Officer, Victor Kidiwa

16.       Guaranty Trust Bank of Kenya, Managing Director, Olabayo Veracruz

KenGen to generate m
The Senate braces fo

Digital Desk, Metropol TV

Rate This Article: