Government’s new directive on Coronavirus

By Daisy Okanga | The government has banned the entry of travellers from countries hit by Coronavirus (COVID-19).

Schools have been closed indefinitely and the government encouraged work from home after two additional cases of COVID-19 were confirmed in Kenya.

All persons who have come into Kenya in the last 14 days must self-quarantine, the government said while confirming two people who tested positive were taken at the Kenyatta National Hospital isolation ward and are among the 27 that came into contact with the first confirmed patient.

This even as the Judiciary announced it was scaling down its activities in the wake of the confirmation of the deadly viral disease in the country.

President Uhuru Kenyatta said in efforts to contain the spread of the virus, only Kenyan citizens and foreigners with a valid residence permit will be allowed to enter the country, this will take effect within the next 48 hours to cater for any passengers who may be en route.

The Head of State urged government offices, businesses and companies to allow employees to work from home with the exception of those working in critical or essential services.

The disease which spreads through droplets from coughs and sneezes has affected 156 countries so far and claimed over 5000 lives globally. Kenya is on high alert and President Kenyatta said that all necessary measures should be taken to prevent more cases of the virus.

The directive is expected to negatively impact airlines, the tourism sector and cause supplies slowdowns for traders. The fear of being in crowds is expected to further hit businesses.

Coronavirus: Tuskys
Stocks take a nosedi
Rate This Article: