Ukur Yatani confirmed CS Treasury as President Kenyatta reshuffles Cabinet

Former Cabinet Secretary for Labor and Social Protection Ukur Yatani has been appointed as the new Cabinet Secretary (CS) for National Treasury.

Yatani was confirmed by President Uhuru Kenyatta as CS Treasury after having served in an interim capacity for almost half a year.

He takes over from troubled Henry Rotich who was ousted from office over Kimwarer and Aror dam graft cases which saw the state department embezzle public Fund totalling to almost Ksh20 billion.

The 53-year-old Yatani was nominated as Labour CS in January 2018 in Cabinet changes that sparked speculations over a widening rift between President Kenyatta and his Deputy William Ruto.

He was handed the mantle to lead Treasury during President Kenyatta’s keynote address to the nation at State House in Mombasa on Tuesday.

During the address, the president also made raft cabinet reshuffle which saw one Cabinet Secretary lose the job.

Mwangi Kiunjuri was relieved of duties as the CS for Agriculture.

Rachel Omamo was reassigned to Foreign Affairs while Sicily Kariuki will now head the Water ministry.

Kiunjuri was replaced by Peter Munya who previously served as the CS for Trade.

At the same time, Betty Maina, who was the Industrialization Principal Secretary was appointed to the position of Cabinet Secretary for Industrialization and Trade.

Former Nyeri County Senator, Mutahi Kagwe was appointed as the new Health Cabinet Secretary while Sicily Kariuki, who has been CS for Health, was moved to the ministry of water and sanitation.

Simon Chelugui, who was the water and sanitation cabinet secretary, was moved to the Ministry of Labour.

CS who have retained their positions

Cabinet Secretaries who retained their positions include Dr. Fred Matiang’i (Interior), Amina Mohammed (Sports, Culture and Heritage), Charles Keter (Energy), Eugene Wamalwa (Devolution), James Macharia (Transport), Joe Mucheru (ICT), Najib Balala  (Tourism), Prof. George Magoha (Education), Farida Karoney (Lands), Keriako Tobiko (Environment), John Munyes (Petroleum and Mining), and Margaret Kobia (Public Service).

Other changes are as follows:

Hussein Dado- CAS Interior

Ntutu Patrick- CAS Labour

Tuimur Andrew-CAS Water

Peter Odoyo- CAS Defense

Maureen Mbaka- CAS ICT

Winnie Guchu- CAS, State Law Office

Lina Kilimo- CAS, Agriculture

According to the president, the key changes in the cabinet were to see a smooth and efficient operation in the government and the implementation of government programmes.

Jobs at stake as Sou
The stock exchange N

Lawrence Baraza is a prolific writer with competencies in Digital Media, Print, and Broadcast. Baraza is also a Communication Practitioner currently spearheading Digital content on Metropol TV's Digital Desk.

Rate This Article: